departure

dear you,

i should know by now that this is what happens but somehow i was still surprised to find that you vanished overnight.  As if, by sleeping in this hotel room, i’d dropped my guard, unwittingly returned you to the world of dreams. On edge for all the sudden space, I nervously rearranged my shoes. I made the bed three times. I couldn’t find you. Just like that, my head was unoccupied again. And now it’s back to this, and that, and the nothings and the somethings to be done.

I took you with me, I’m sure, we talked on the plane–but the very first morning of my trip i woke up and your absence was immediate. you were just, gone. as though you had never existed. it didn’t even hurt. i walked down to the beach and tried to long for you, tried to claw back the pleasure of it, but the stretching sands and the flat grey sky seemed so much bigger. it all felt a bit ridiculous.

so, that’s it. you’re free, but i really miss you.  no longer a living breathing man, turned to stone by the witch.

m x

 

 

 

Leave a comment